IASC Principals are the heads of all IASC member agencies or their representatives.

They meet twice a year in conferences chaired by the Emergency Relief Coordinator (ERC), Mr. Stephen O'Brien, usually in April and December. For urgent matters, the IASC Principals can schedule ad hoc meetings.

»  Responsibilities of IASC Principals:

  • making strategic and policy decisions which have system-wide implications;
  • endorsing major operational decisions, particularly with respect to implementation of the Transformative Agenda (TA);
  • arbitration where no consensus can be reached at the Working Group or Emergency Directors levels;
  • advocating common humanitarian principles, collectively or individually, on behalf of the IASC;
  • approving the general work programme of the IASC, the WG, and the EDG;
  • bringing issues to the attention of the Secretary-General and the Security Council, through the ERC; and
  • designating Humanitarian Coordinators and selecting coordination arrangements.

The Emergency Relief Coordinator, supported by the IASC Secretariat, consults IASC member agencies on the agenda for IASC Principals Meetings.

IASC Principals meeting, 6 December 2016

IASC Principals meeting December 2016, hosted by UNICEF and UNHCR, Photo credit: UNHCR/Susan Hopper

IASC Principals meeting 7-8 June 2016, Washington, D.C.

IASC Principals meeting June, Washinton, D. C., hosted by InterAction

Upcoming Meetings

There are no upcoming events at this time.

Past Meetings


Stephen OBrien

Mr. Stephen O'Brien

Emergency Relief Coordinator

Full Members

David Beasley

Mr. David Beasley

Executive Director

Dr. Margaret Chan


Mr. Joan Clos

Executive Director
Filippo Grandi

Mr. Filippo Grandi

High Commissioner

Mr. José Graziano da Silva


Mr. Anthony Lake

Executive Director
Ursula Mueller

Ms. Ursula Mueller

Assistant Secretary-General and Deputy Emergency Relief Coordinator

Dr. Babatunde Osotimehin

Executive Director
Mr. William Lacy Swing

Mr. William Lacy Swing


Standing Invitees

Mr. Zeid Ra’ad Al Hussein

High Commissioner

Mr. Elhadj As Sy

Secretary General

Mr. Yves Daccord

Mark Goldring

Mr. Mark Goldring

CEO Oxfam GB /Representing SCHR
Cecilia Jimenez-Damary

Ms. Cecilia Jimenez-Damary

SR on HR of IDPs
Mahmoud Mohieldin

Mr. Mahmoud Mohieldin

Senior Vice President for the 2030 Development Agenda, United Nations Relations, and Partnerships

Dr. Ahmad Faizal Perdaus

President Mercy Malaysia & Chair ICVA Consortium

Mr. Sam Worthington

President and CEO