The Committee of the Principals

The Committee of the Principals

The Committee of the Principals
A staged group photo of the IASC Principals in front of an ICRC flag and a window with the UN Geneva HQ visible.

As per GA Resolution 48/57,

“… the Inter-Agency Standing Committee, under the leadership of the Emergency Relief Coordinator, should serve as the primary mechanism for inter-agency coordination[.]”


The IASC is comprised of the IASC Principals. The IASC Principals are the executive heads of 18 United Nations and non-UN organizations that form the IASC. The IASC Principals work together to ensure coherence of preparedness and response efforts, formulate policy, and agree on priorities for strengthened humanitarian action.

The Emergency Relief Coordinator (ERC), Mr. Mark Lowcock, chairs meetings of the IASC Principals. The ERC, supported by the IASC secretariat, sets the agenda in consultation with the IASC Principals.

As per GA Resolution 46/182, the IASC is accountable through the ERC to the Secretary-General for “better preparation for, as well as rapid and coherent response to [crises].”

Responsibilities include:

  • Making strategic and policy decisions which have system-wide implications;
  • Endorsing major operational decisions;
  • Arbitration where no consensus can be reached at other IASC levels;
  • Advocating common humanitarian principles, collectively or individually, on behalf of the IASC;
  • Approving the general work programme of the IASC structures;
  • Bringing issues to the attention of the Secretary-General and the Security Council, through the Emergency Relief Coordinator; and
  • Designating Humanitarian Coordinators and selecting coordination arrangements.

The IASC Principals are supported by three IASC subsidiary bodies established to support the implementation of their decisions and priorities, namely: the Deputies Forum, Emergency Directors Group (EDG), Operational Policy and Advocacy Group (OPAG) supported by five Results Groups (RGs).

Upcoming Meetings

(All day)


Mark Lowcock

Mr. Mark Lowcock

Emergency Relief Coordinator and Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs

Full Members

Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus

Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus

David Beasley

Mr. David Beasley

Executive Director
Qu Dongyu

Mr. Qu Dongyu

Henrietta H. Fore

Ms. Henrietta H. Fore

Executive Director
Filippo Grandi

Mr. Filippo Grandi

High Commissioner and IASC Champion on PSEA and SH
Natalia Kanem

Dr. Natalia Kanem

Executive Director
Ursula Mueller

Ms. Ursula Mueller

Assistant Secretary-General and Deputy Emergency Relief Coordinator
Maimunah Mohd Sharif

Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif

Executive Director
Achim Steiner

Mr. Achim Steiner

UNDP Administrator
António Manuel de Carvalho Ferreira Vitorino

Mr. António Manuel de Carvalho Ferreira Vitorino


Standing Invitees

Elhadj As Sy

Mr. Elhadj As Sy

Secretary General
Michelle Bachelet

Ms. Michelle Bachelet

High Commissioner
Cecilia Jimenez-Damary

Ms. Cecilia Jimenez-Damary

Special Rapporteur on the Human Rights of Internally Displaced Persons
A photo of ICRC President, Peter Maurer, standing infront of the ICRC logo.

Mr. Peter Maurer

Mahmoud Mohieldin

Dr. Mahmoud Mohieldin

Senior Vice President for the 2030 Development Agenda, United Nations Relations, and Partnerships
A photo of Gareth Price-Jones

Mr. Gareth Price-Jones

Executive Secretary
Anoop Sukumaran

Mr. Anoop Sukumaran

Chair, ICVA Board
A head-and-shoulders photo of Sam Worthington

Mr. Sam Worthington

President and CEO