

IASC Operational Policy and Advocacy Group (OPAG) Meeting 9 March 2022

SUMMARY RECORD

INTRODUCTION

The Operational Policy and Advocacy Group (OPAG) of the Inter-Agency Standing Committee (IASC) convened on 9 March 2022 to finalize the selection of the Task Force co-Chairs and agree on the next steps as part of the IASC transition process.

In their introductory remarks, the OPAG co-Chairs, Ms. Valerie Guarnieri and Mr. Geir Olav Lisle welcomed participants. Ms. Guarnieri outlined that the meeting was an opportunity to finalize co-chairmanship arrangements for the new Task Forces for 2022-2023 and ensure they are stood up by 1 April.

TRANSITION TO IASC TASK FORCES AND CO-CHAIRMANSHIP ARRANGEMENTS

Mr. Yasin Samatar, IASC secretariat, briefed on the feedback received from members on the co-chairing arrangements for IASC OPAG Task Forces for 2022-2023. Based on the nomination and selection criteria, including the need to balance between the UN and NGO representation, options were provided to members to vote on a final list of co-Chairs, which was shared with the OPAG on 8 March. Mr. Samatar noted that OPAG members indicated their strong support for the suggested co-chairmanship arrangements for Task Force 1 on Centrality of Protection, Task Force 3 on Preserving Humanitarian Space and Task Force 4 on Humanitarian-Development Collaboration ahead of today's meeting. They also informed of their support for a triple co-chairing arrangement for Task Force 2 on Accountability to Affected People and Task Force 5 on Localization given the importance of NGO leadership and expertise, particularly that of local and national NGOs. Finally, Mr. Samatar noted the importance of ensuring inclusive membership for Task Forces, especially in light of the IASC's efforts on localization and highlighted that the draft priority areas of work will be shared with OPAG members and the new Task Force co-chairs soon.

DISCUSSION

OPAG members welcomed the opportunity to discuss and finalize co-chairing of the new Task Forces. They appreciated the strong support by the IASC secretariat to date and they overwhelmingly supported the list shared ahead of the meeting with the following co-chairmanship arrangements:

- Task Force 1: Centrality of Protection InterAction and UNHCR
- Task Force 2: Accountability to Affected People CHS Alliance, IFRC, and WFP
- Task Force 3: Preserving Humanitarian Space (BAI & COTER) NRC and OCHA
- Task Force 4: Humanitarian-Development Collaboration and its Linkages to Peace Oxfam and UNDP
- Task Force 5: Localization NEAR Network, Titi Foundation, and UNICEF

Members agreed that the option for a triple co-chairing arrangement was a good solution to ensure inclusivity of local and national NGOs, and to benefit from their broad coalitions. Some members inquired whether a third co-chair could be added for Task Force 4 on Humanitarian-Development Collaboration



and its Linkages to Peace given the important links between the IASC and some of the development coordination platforms. Members inquired about the handover from Results Groups to Task Forces and working modalities of Task Forces, particularly in relation to Task Force 3 on BAI and COTER. Finally, members noted the importance of a smooth transition towards the new Task Forces as well as the need for coherence and coordination on the work ahead, including effective and efficient by the IASC secretariat in support of the co-chairs to translate policy to action.

Ms. Valerie Guarnieri acknowledged the strong expression of support to the proposed co-chairing arrangements. She informed that triple co-chairing arrangement was agreed to where it would broaden membership and leadership particularly when it comes to NGO leadership, in particular from local and national NGOs. She acknowledged the request for a third co-chair for Task Force 4 but encouraged members to contribute strongly to the work of the Task Force. Ms. Guarnieri also added that Task Force co-chairs had a responsibility to lead and steer the work of their Task Forces to remain relevant, useful and that they can more effectively translate policy into action. The IASC secretariat would continue to support and advise on synergies and hand over as well as membership shortly. The OPAG would ramin open to discussing any other business related to the transition process in its upcoming meetings.

ACTION POINTS

- 1. Agreement to the co-chairing arrangements for the new IASC OPAG Task Forces [IASC secretariat]
- 2. Advise on Task Force membership and next steps [IASC secretariat]

AOB

Mr. Geir Olav Lisle, OPAG co-chair, informed members about the survey results of the assessment undertaken on OPAG co-chairs' performance. The results indicated strong appreciation of OPAG co-chairs' leadership and steering of the group on critical priorities. He informed members of the Emergency Relief Coordinator request to extend the term of the OPAG co-chairs for the 2022-2023 biennium.

OPAG members appreciated the continued co-chairmanship of OPAG co-chairs into the next biennium and pledged to continue to work closely with them to deliver OPAG priorities and set Task Forces up for success.



ANNEX: PARTICIPANTS LIST

OPAG Co-Chairs Ms. Valerie Guarnieri, Assistant Executive Director, WFP

Mr. Geir Olav Lisle, Deputy Secretary-General, NRC

FAO Mr. Patrick Jacqueson
ICRC Ms. Alexandra Boivin
ICVA Ms. Mirela Shuteriqi
ICVA – IMC Ms. Mary Pack

ICVA – COAST Mr. Rezaul Karim Chowdhury

IFRCMs. Isabelle GrangerInterActionMr. Julien SchoppInterAction – CRSMs. Emily WeiInterAction –Ms. Pia Wanek

Global Communities

IASC secretariat:

IOM Ms. Tristan Burnett **OCHA** Mr. Andrew Wyllie **OHCHR** Mr. Roberto Ricci **SCHR** Mr. Gareth Price Jones SCHR - Christian Aid Mr. Michael Mosselmans **UNDP** Mr. Peter Batchelor **UNFPA** Ms. Jennifer Miguel Mr. Filiep Decorte **UN-HABITAT** Ms. Annika Sandlund UNHCR UNICEF Ms. Segolene Adam **WFP** Mr. David Kaatrud **WHO** Mr. Kevin Ousman **World Bank** Ms. Maria Dimitriadou

Mr. Yasin Samatar